It’s not getting cold in here!

26 Oct

Well the time has come. Our fridge has finally hit the fan. After a year of fridge horror getting a “new” one that didn’t work, then buying a new one that didn’t fit and then resulting back to ole’ faithful. I believe our fridge is finally done-zo. On Tuesday, I noticed that many of the food items in there were not cold- cool but not cold. This morning I smelt something rancid (spoiled milk).  The stinky part is I just went to the grocery store and bought food for our meals for the week… so now we have to eat out and wait to see if the fridge is fixable or if we have to buckle down and buy one. I hate to purchase anything new for this house because it is only a temporary home till we find something we love. After looking at 30 homes i’m not sure when that will be. 🙂

I spent today doing house duties- mowing the lawn, cleaning, and laundry. I’m trying to have this weekend free so Jon and I can actually relax. We have a concert Friday and of course the UT game Saturday and my brother’s birthday lunch on Sunday. For the first time in a very long time I feel I am finally catching up on all the little things I never get to.

Unfortunately, with the poopy fridge I only made one meal this week. Here it is.. my famous spaghetti (Jon’s favorite)

This recipe was adopted from the Abs Diet- one of my go to healthy eating books.

Spaghetti Sauce

– 1lb extra lean ground turkey or beef (I usually use turkey)

-1 small-medium onion

-2 cans of italian diced tomatoes

-1 jar (no sugar added) tomato sauce, or organic works too- avoid over processed sugary sauces

-1 cup mushrooms

-1 cup spinach

-2 garlic cloves (minced)

-1 T italian seasoning

*combine turkey/beef and onion and brown.

*add tomatoes and garlic and cook for 1-2 min.

*add tomato sauce, spinach,mushrooms and seasoning and simmer for 5-10 min.

***NOTE: I highly recommend using a spaghetti portioned when making this type of dish… it will help cut down on unwanted extra carbs and keep the calorie and nutrition where you want it to be. This sauce is amazing on top of chicken (take out the ground meat) or in lasagna

Happy cooking!

Leave a Reply

