Holiday festivities and a new diet

31 Dec

The holidays have almost come and gone for everyone. I can say we have had a very big adventure these past couple of weeks. I will always remember our first Christmas married. So far, it has been one of the most memorable.

Holiday memories:

1. Spending time with the ones I love. This Christmas we had several gatherings with family that were extra special. Many of Jon’s close relatives live out of town and getting together with them can be a challenge. It was nice to catch up.

2. Bettering myself through giving. This year Jon and I really focused on all the many blessings we have. Starting with each other and what we could do for other people. I work in a job where I see many children and families that are not always delt the easiest cards. We tried to focus on bettering other people’s holiday season by giving back as much as we could. I have to say I feel giving during this time feels better than ever.

3. House hunting. Many of you know that Jon and I have been searching for a new home for around 7 months. We have put in three offers and they have all been rejected or just didn’t work out. But finally after all this time we found the perfect home. 🙂 Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

 

 

The 17 Day Diet

Due to a surgery I recently had I am unable to workout for the next 6 weeks.Therefore, I am taking this time to better my eating habits. I recently purchased the book, The 17 Day Diet after reading a review on Amazon. I found the principles of the diet very interesting and wanted to give it a try. Below I have outlined some of the rules in case you are interested.

1. The diet consists of 3 cycles ( each  17 days) during the first cycle you loose the most weight because of the strict limitations of carbohydrates, condiments, and fats. Each cycle adds additional foods and opens up your options. You may stop at any cycle once you have reached your goal.

2. Probiotics are a staple- eat two servings a day

3. Focus on lean meats and fresh fruits and veggies. No beans, or nuts until the 2nd and 3rd cycles.

4. No fruit after 2 pm. This allows your body to process the sugars prior to bedtime.

5. 17 minutes of exercise is encouraged per day (I will not do this due to health reasons at the moment.)

I will keep you posted on any new recipes of ideas I have on this plan. 🙂 Happy New Year!

 

 

Leave a Reply

